July 26, 2023

Meet the 2023 COPA Volunteer Awards recipients

Jon Robinson

President’s Award recipient Robert Jaap with his straight tail Cessna 172. (Photo: Robert Jaap)

— By Sharon Cheung

The flying community across Canada continues to thrive thanks to the generous efforts of many outstanding aviation leaders. Through COPA’s Volunteer Awards, the Canadian Owners and Pilots Association recognizes volunteers who go above and beyond to advance, promote and preserve the Canadian Freedom to Fly in their local communities. We are pleased to announce this year’s recipients in the following categories and regions below:

President’s Award – Rob Jaap, Sylvan Lake, AB
Rob is the owner, pilot and mechanic of a straight-tail Cessna 172 affectionately known as the Spam Can (C-GFGY). When he isn’t spending time backcountry flying into Red Deer Forestry (CFR7), he can be found leading the fine folks of Innisfail Flying Club, flying in his own and other clubs’ Discover Aviation events, tirelessly volunteering for all types of aviation pursuits. Over the past two years, Rob has spearheaded a small group of aviators and volunteers to run a survival weekend dubbed That Night in the Woods. The overnight simulated survival scenario held in April is a proving ground for aviators and aviation survival kits alike.

Director’s Awards
Greg Howard, Qualicum Beach, BC
Guy Miller, Pitt Meadows, BC
Stephanie Hodson, Red Deer, AB
Dan Charrois, Legal, AB
Canadian In-Flight Information Broadcast (CIFIB), Southern ON
John Chandler, North York, ON
Gary Blanchett, South River, ON
Clay Smith, Glovertown, NL
Jeremy Dann, Parkdale, NS

COPA Appreciation Awards
David Black, North Vancouver, BC
Geoff Hancock, Vermillon, AB
Glenn Chong, Red Deer, AB
Kyle Huth, Ottawa, ON
Charles Rampulla, Brampton, ON

COPA Flight Excellence Award
COPA Flight 157, Iron Creek Flying Club, Iron Creek, AB